West Highland Housing Association shortlisted for Green Energy Awards

A West Highland Housing Association project has been named among the projects to be shortlisted for the 2019 Scottish Green Energy Awards.

The Association’s heat project at its development in Aldersyde is in the running for the Best Community Project Award.

Graeme Bruce, operations manager at West Highland Housing Association, said the Association was “delighted” that the development has been shortlisted.

He told Scottish Housing News: “This nomination is a reflection of our commitment to working with local partners to decarbonise our stock, while providing our customers with high-quality, energy efficient homes.”

The annual awards will see 44 individuals, companies and projects vie to scoop prizes in 12 categories at a 1,200-guest ceremony on December 6 in Edinburgh.

Claire Mack, chief executive of Scottish Renewables, which organises the awards, said: “It’s impossible not to be bowled over by the quality of nominations we received for the awards this year.

“Our judges, as ever, struggled to pick even the shortlist, let alone the winners. The contenders show passion, commitment and innovation in spades, and should be proud to have made it this far. We’re looking forward to a great night in Edinburgh on December 6 as we celebrate our industry’s contribution to Scotland’s economy and environment.”

The full shortlist is:

Best Community Project Award, sponsored by SSE Renewables

  • Dundee City Council for electric mobility strategy 
  • North Uist Development Company for UistWind
  • Canna Renewable Energy and Electrification for The CREE Project, Isle of Canna 
  • West Highland Housing Association for Aldersyde heat project

Best Engagement Award, sponsored by Xodus

  • Muirhall Energy for Crossdykes Wind Farm 
  • Beatrice Offshore Windfarm 
  • Foundation Scotland & Vattenfall for the Unlock our Future Fund
  • Fife Council for Glenrothes Energy Network

Best Innovation Award, sponsored by Red Rock Power Limited

  • Limpet Technology for the Get up Safe system 
  • Renewable Exchange for PPA Marketplace
  • ScottishPower Renewables and Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy for Virtual Synchronous Machine software
  • StorTera for the Single Liquid Flow Battery

Best Practice Award, sponsored by Natural Power

  • Energy Institute for SafetyOn
  • Beatrice Offshore Windfarm for ALARP Design Procedure
  • Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks for Biodiversity Site Optioneering Toolkit
  • Natural Power and ORE Catapult for Wind Energy Benchmarking Services (WEBS)

Carbon Reduction Award, sponsored by SmartestEnergy

  • Balfour Beatty, Dundee City Council and ESB for Caird Park Low Carbon District Energy Hub
  • Glenmorangie for Dornoch Firth Distillery by-product management
  • Renewable Parts’ Refurbishment Centre
  • Aberdeen City Council for The Event Complex Aberdeen 

Champion of Renewables, sponsored by National Grid ESO

  • Dr Chris Pendlebury, Natural Power
  • Dave Pearson, Star Renewable Energy
  • Sian Wilson, Crown Estate Scotland
  • Úna Brosnan, Atkins

Contribution to Skills Award, sponsored by Scottish Government (Scottish National Investment Bank)

  • ORE Catapult for STEM Club Start-Up
  • The University of Edinburgh for the Policy and Innovation Group
  • ESP for Wind and Marine Training Network

Outstanding Project Award, sponsored by innogy Renewables UK Ltd

  • Beatrice Offshore Windfarm 
  • European Marine Energy Centre for HyDIME
  • SP Energy Networks for Green Economy Fund
  • Aberdeen City Council for The Event Complex Aberdeen 

Outstanding Service Award, sponsored by Aberdeen Renewable Energy Group

  • Seaway 7 and Atkins
  • Green Marine 
  • McFadyens Transport

Sustainable Development Award, sponsored by ABB

  • Aberdeen City Council for hydrogen strategy 
  • Balfour Beatty, Dundee City Council and ESB for Caird Park Low Carbon District Energy Hub
  • Jon Clipsham, European Marine Energy Centre 
  • Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks for Biodiversity Site Optioneering Toolkit

Young & Inspiring Award, sponsored by WSP

  • Daniel Coles, SIMEC Atlantis Energy
  • Ethan Glencross, Renewable Parts
  • Adele Brownlie, EDP Renewables
  • Hannah Houston, University of Strathclyde

Outstanding Contribution Award, sponsored by Highlands and Islands Enterprise

  • No shortlist, winner announced on the night.

Related posts